Are Your New Favorite Tacos Made from Jackfruit?

Jackfruit tacos are the new vegetarian thing. Photo: Regina Mogilevskaya
Jackfruit tacos are the new vegetarian thing. Photo: Regina Mogilevskaya
Before last week, I had never considered jackfruit tacos because I never knew such a thing existed. To be honest, I didn’t really know what jackfruit was. Turns out, a tree fruit (the largest in the world!) native to South and Southeast Asia that has been quietly making a name for itself in vegetarian and vegan circles as a useful and potentially delicious ingredient. And jackfruit tacos do exist—at Toro Ironworks Kitchen & Bar in Greenpoint.
Chances are that if you’ve ever searched, “tacos near me” while standing on a corner in Greenpoint (you know who you are), you’ve come across Toro. Such is the case with me, as I’ve found myself in many a New York neighborhood not my own in pursuit of a quick and easy taco fix. The last time I was at Toro was a few summers back for chips,… Read More

The post Are Your New Favorite Tacos Made from Jackfruit? appeared first on Brooklyn Based.

from Brooklyn Based » »Brooklyn Based http://ift.tt/1NLdqpe
via IFTTT

Leave a comment